Author
doubletaper
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 3977
  • Reward points: 0
2011/02/07 10:45:09 (permalink)

'Virgin Scuds'

'Virgin Scuds'

I received a new fly fishing mag in the mail last week. Right there on the front cover was a reference to a main feature called 3 Dirty Flies: Two Bit Hooker, Kinky Muddler and a Psycho Prince. Why the tiers have to come up with provocative names is beyond me. Usually these new patterns are knock-offs of another known pattern that have a tad difference in material or shade color in its ingredients. I think they just change the name to capture one’s interest. With this in mind I added my own touch to a pattern that I will now call the ‘Virgin Scud’.
I am going to fish the Big Horn this coming April. I read that pink scuds were the #1 fish getter that time of year beneath the surface. Being I have never used this fly before I guess it would be a ‘Virgin’ in my account. Next it is pink! Now I always claim I do not have a feminine side so I don’t get into tying pink flies but this kind of has to be done if I plan on catching fish in Montana.
I’m not a nymph fisherman as much as some and my one nymph box will prove it but occasionally when my buggers, streamers and dries don’t connect and I see someone scoring on nymphs, I go ahead and give them a try. After a couple of Leinenkugel’s 1888 bock beers, I decided to give these Virgin Scuds a go.

material

Hook: 37160 #16 Mustad (curved)
Thread: cherry red
Rib: fine gold (french) wire
Shellback: plastic strip cut from a zip-loc bag.
Body: 4 pink Ostrich herl
Head: cherry red

1. Clamp Virgin hook tightly so she won’t get loose
2. Start thread behind her eye and use smooth even wraps towards her rear as shown

3. Tie in a gold rib, (virgins love gold), and then strip

4. Tie in Ostrich herl at rear with tips over the shaft as shown. (I use 4 Ostrich herl to play with)

5. wind thread over the herl tips to just behind eye.