Looking for some advice

Author
greenhead55
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 290
  • Reward points: 0
2011/01/06 09:26:31 (permalink)

Looking for some advice

I am looking for some guidance on some of PA's streams. I am fairly new to fly fishing (2 years) and so is my father. We are looking to explore some of PA's waters in two and three day stretches. We are hoping to do this in April, May and possibly early June. We do tie the basic flies and are going to purchase dries. Because we are new I am not looking to fish the real difficult waters but we aren't looking for a fish for all either. Just want to explore and catch fish while enjoying being away from home/work. If showers are on at campgrounds we will probably stay in State camps with tents. Where do you guys with the knowledge think we should go and stay ? We will be doing these small trips preferably with two full days to fish each time. I'm not asking for spot burning but as much advice as you are willing to give. I know that we definitely want to fish Penn's. Also a trip to Renovo area would be nice. I am leaving this to you the experienced anglers to help us out. Thank you and your help is highly appreciated.

16 Replies Related Threads

Cold
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 7358
    RE: Looking for some advice 2011/01/06 10:43:19 (permalink)
    Never actually did it, but from visits to the area, I always thought it'd be nice to do an extended weekend at Kettle Creek Park. From the park, several great "bigger name" streams are only a short trip away, and the entire area is crisscrossed by tiny little streams full of natives.
    RIZ
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 915
    RE: Looking for some advice 2011/01/06 11:00:03 (permalink)
    bald eagle sp is a very nice park with showers and is close to the central trout waters.

stevensons dam area sinnemahoning sp, has showers too.  it's on 1st fork is central to a lot of good water in that area