Setting the hook with a nymph?

Author
PeteM
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 539
  • Reward points: 0
2007/11/03 13:43:38 (permalink)

Setting the hook with a nymph?

Hey guys, I'm new to fly fishing and was wondeing if I could tap the collective experience of this board.

I read through the "Nymphing Tactics" thread and picked up some great info on setting up the line for a nymph. I put that info to work a couple of times now in the past week with very good results.

The problem I've run into has to do with setting the hook. Now that I'm getting it down to them and the fish are hitting it, they seem to spit it out as I try to reel them in.

Any tips on getting it set so that they can't spit the mynph out? The set-up I'm using is as follows- Floating line to a 9 ft. leader with about 3 ft. tippet. I've set the split shot about a foot from the nymph, and bio-strike on the leader depends on the depth, usualy about 5 ft. back from the split shot, depending on depth. The rod is a med. action 5wt. Pfleuger Purist.

What has been happening is that when I feel the hit, I give a short sharp tug on the line with my line(left) hand to set the hook, and start to reel in. The fish comes up, thrashes a little, then spits the hook and swims back down to his hole.

It's kinda frustrating.

Any tips?

3 Replies Related Threads

fishenfool46
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 1000
    RE: Setting the hook with a nymph? 2007/11/03 16:35:49 (permalink)
    try this pete follow your line as it drifts with the rod tip so you get a more natural drift keep as much floating line off the water as you can trap the line under your right index finger if right handed. when you get a hit don't pull the line use the rod the line will have slight slack. as you are drifting make sure your line isn't all over the water meaning keep it slightly tight.also at tthe end of the drift let it swing through this is when ya get most pick ups. hope this helps
    saltflyfisher
    Expert Angler