Set up beginner?

Author
Josh7388
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 344
  • Reward points: 0
2010/08/07 17:00:07 (permalink)

Set up beginner?

I know what rod and reel i would like to get but i would like direction on what kind of terminal tackle, jigs, floats and whatever else i should get to fish for steelheads in the tribs?

Something not to expensive but just a complete beginner setup

Thankyou

4 Replies Related Threads

HCsteel
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 732
    RE: Set up beginner? 2010/08/07 17:30:34 (permalink)
    Line I use 10lb siglon F floating line, I use size 10 blackbird or size 10 Daiichi X510 hooks. For swivels I use the smallest blackbird swivels (20lb strength). Leader I use Froghair or Pline Flouro in 4,6, or 8lb depending on creek conditions.  For jigs I tie my own but if you are buying there are a couple distributors online for custom or mini-foo jigs. You can use any kind of flies you want with a pin and I would also tie up some of your own egg sacks or buy them from a bait shop. Floats are a personal manner, buy a couple from each brand and find which ever you like best. I personally use all of the Ravens and their float tubing material and a few of the Drennan crystal ones. There are also custom float makers if that floats your boat. That should be what you need to get started.

P.S. Almost all of those items can be bought from FishUSA.
    Josh7388
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 344
    RE: Set up beginner? 2010/08/08 07:36:02 (permalink)
    thankyou very much, what kind of flies would i use with center pin fishing? i have flyfished before but this is really new to me.

Thankyou for any other advice
    papinner
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1083
    RE: Set up beginner? 2010/08/08 08:01:45 (permalink)