Hi im a NOVICE!

Author
TransAmWS6
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 645
  • Reward points: 0
2007/10/14 17:33:52 (permalink)

Hi im a NOVICE!

really wanna get into flyfishing, not just for trout but for everything.  would like advice on a first flyrod to get me started.  i will probably start using it in the local streams and creeks that hold trout bass catfish walleye, up erie for steelheads, and then hopefully be abel to use it anywhere eventually

17 Replies Related Threads

jlh42581
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1885
    RE: Hi im a NOVICE! 2007/10/14 19:34:20 (permalink)
    5wt- the beginner rod that will fish for just about anything
    casts_by_fly
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 671
    RE: Hi im a NOVICE! 2007/10/15 04:20:13 (permalink)
    I'd suggest a 6 myself just because most beginners will want a moderate-fast action rod and most moderate-fast rods in a 5 wt aren't powerful enough for a beginner at steelhead.  Also, most beginners on steelhead will want to fish lower walnut or somewhere else that there are plenty of fish (and thus plenty of people).  An inexperienced fly angler in crowded conditions with a slightly underpowered rod adds up to some frustration all around.

A 9' 6 wt with a moderate fast action and a decent disk drag reel will do you well to catch almost anything in fresh water and enough saltwater to make it worth bringing.

Thanks,
    Rick
    Bowhunter
    New Angler
    • Total Posts : 17
    RE: Hi im a NOVICE! 2007/10/15 08:02:32 (permalink)
    Hard to pick one rod that will cover all the types of fish you want to catch (for a beginner).  A 5 wt is a great middle weight for all the species you mentioned.  But as stated, a beginner will be under-gunned for the larger fish.  If you fish the chutes at walnut a steelhead will run you clean to Manchester hole.