Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
rhomer20
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 47
  • Reward points: 0
2009/10/05 11:41:40 (permalink)

Scenario on baiting

I'll start from the beginning on 7/20/09. I buy a new trail cam and put it in a spot ive hunted for a couple yrs. I also spice up a stump with approx. a pound of granulated salt and a 1/4 bag of acorn rage to get some quick pics. Pulled the camera about a week later and saw some nice bucks in the area. Acorn rage had been eaten and the salt had soaked into the soil due to a couple days of rain.

Lets move forward to 10/3/09 Opening Day. Im sitting on stand Sat evening about 30yds from where i had put the salt and acorn rage more than 2 months ago when i see someone walking towards me and yelling, "Hunter I am a game officer please come down from your stand." He explained to me that this was an active bait site that they had been watching for a while now and that i was breaking the law for hunting over bait. I asked how it could be active when the last time i put salt/acorn rage was more than 2 months ago and was a fairly small amount. He continued by saying that he stuck his finger in the soil and tasted it and said it was salty. So i tasted the soil and it tasted like dirt to me. He explained that the residue was still in the soil and i would have had to dig up the soil in that area (1ft by 2 ft) to make it in-active. After pleading my case for a while he still wrote me a $300 fine and made me remove my stand.

What do you think about my situation? I would like to plead not guilty and fight it in court.

43 Replies Related Threads

SilverKype
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3842
    RE: Scenario on baiting 2009/10/05 11:50:18 (permalink)
    I would fight it because sticking your finger in dirt and tasting salt doesn't validate baiting.  However, soil samples will likely determine which way it goes in court. 

This is one of the reasons I don't bait for cam photos.