Plastic Molds

Author
RhnstnCowboy
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 2583
  • Reward points: 0
2009/03/09 16:53:11 (permalink)

Plastic Molds

I am relatively new at making my own plastic baits.  It is an easy, cheap way to load up on the baits you use most.  However, I have a few questions for people who have more experience.  When do you add the scent?  If I add the scent when the plastic is really hot, it boils up and hardens.  if I wait, then the plastic is too hard and won't pour.  Should I heat the scent along with the plastic?  My worry in doing that is that many of the scents, like anise, and some of the craw scents are alcohol based and if I heat them, they will evaporate before I pour the bait or even catch fire... 

My next question is about worm harnesses.  I use a lot of K&E bass stoppers, worm rivals, etc.  Is there an easy way to thread mono through a plastic worm to make a stinger hook and a hook in the middle of the body?  Is there a way to put the mono in the mold while the plastic is till soft, so it is already in there when it cools?     

"Part of being a Leftist is the smug conviction that you and people like you are smart, while everyone else is stupid and/or evil"
- T. Fleming

14 Replies Related Threads

mikeg
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2533
    RE: Plastic Molds 2009/03/09 19:30:28 (permalink)
    "My next question is about worm harnesses.  I use a lot of K&E bass stoppers, worm rivals, etc.  Is there an easy way to thread mono through a plastic worm to make a stinger hook and a hook in the middle of the body?  Is there a way to put the mono in the mold while the plastic is till soft, so it is already in there when it cools?  "

Can't help with the mixing, but this may help with the other deal!

http://lakemichiganangler.com/store/Worm_and_Bait_Threader.htm

http://www.steelheaduniversity.com/simpleprawn.html

Here's how to do it....(well, you'll get an idea anyway)