3wt vs 5 wt fly rod

Page: < 123 Showing page 3 of 3
Author
seizeone
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 17
  • Reward points: 0
RE: 3wt vs 5 wt fly rod 2008/12/26 10:40:19 (permalink)
im so glad to see that some of you guys share my fondness for slow action rods.... the old superfines were some of the most fun rods to fish ever, in my opinion.... a good friend of mine just found a 6wt old superfine in a shop in vermont and gave it to me as a christmas present.... now THAT is a good friend............

for small brookies a 2wt works great for me. for stockers i go with a 4wt, for steelhead its 6/7wt, for salmon its 7/8wt's my rod-lengths depend on the stream size....

and i also couldnt agree more, that i good cast/loop is in the casters ability, not the rod/action.......
casts_by_fly
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 671
RE: 3wt vs 5 wt fly rod 2008/12/26 21:00:31 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: Skip16503

OK I've been kicking this Idea around for a couple of years ..  I'm not nuts  Well most of the time       I'm thinking about a 4 foot 5 WT Full Flex for Mpuntain Streams What ya Think?   Go ahead tell me I'm stupid I'm used to I've been married 26 years...........

skip,

I have one. I had a broken 6 wt that I cut off just in front of the grip. I picked up a 3' (maybe 4') fiberglass ice fishing rod blank, bushed the bottom 6" with tape, and glued it into the grip cut off. I then wrapped a couple fly guides up around the tip and a stripper guide. It casts pretty well with a 5 or 6 wt line. It is a full flex action and the tip of the rod can touch the butt. I haven't fished it for brookies, but I've cast it a bunch and know that it would do the job.

Thanks
Rick
strandman220
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 140
RE: 3wt vs 5 wt fly rod 2008/12/26 21:24:55 (permalink)