First Timer!

Author
chromewrangler
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 64
  • Reward points: 0
2008/11/16 21:49:09 (permalink)

First Timer!

Alright guys, so ive had the privlidge of being brought up in the outdoors.  Ever since i can remember ive been in the woods, especially with my pap....so, ive got my first baby on the way, and its a boy....so im real excited about it.  But, to make a long story short, ive always been on the other end of this deal.  I started shooting 22s when i was maybe 6 or 7...with adult supervision mind you, and ol papa would always take me out when i got a little older and occasionaly, well more often than not hed take me small game hunting and sometimes id get to pop a squirrel....is that how everyone has learned?  How early is too early to take a kid in the woods with you? Ive been joking around with the wife tellin her if i can figure out away to safely put a carseat in my treestand he'll be in the archery woods with me next season haha..obviously thats a joke before someone reams me lol Anyway.. Has someone learned differently?...i wanna do this  right and any kind of advice on the subject would be greatly appreciated...

15 Replies Related Threads

Big Fathead
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 915
    RE: First Timer! 2008/11/16 22:11:46 (permalink)
    I'm with ya man! I'm sporting an 8 month old boy and can't wait until he is old enough to go fishing and hunting. I don't know if anyone can ansew your question because every kid is different. I think you will know when it's time to take the kid out. My oldest daughter likes to fish a little but wants nothing to do with hunting. My 8 year old daughter likes to fish a little and I think she may hunt. I'm attempting to get her to the range to shoot then who knows maybe a mentor buck hunt! I know other guys who started there kids around 6 years old hunting. My 8 year old is very competetive but a little antsy! Good luck and I hope you get him hunting soon!
    rollcaster
    Pro Angler