Flathead fishing

Author
pin_drifter
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 253
  • Reward points: 0
2008/07/18 15:14:14 (permalink)

Flathead fishing

Hi guys looking for people who know how to fish old ugly. I have been now for awhile and having no luck fishing gills and dams in the deepest pools below the dam and info how i might be able to hook up more be greatly appericated.  I am all ears.  Been fishing the number 7 pool in kittanning Armstrong county. Thanks

Quit ****ing and take a kid fishing !!

11 Replies Related Threads

D-nymph
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 6701
    RE: Flathead fishing 2008/07/18 15:30:02 (permalink)
    I'm no expert, but I get a few.  I fish bluegills, and know that some on the Allegheny have success with Rock Bass if you can get them.

Shelves next to barge cuts.  Water 6-10 feet deep, that drops to 20 foot plus quickly are spots that I try to fish. The big flats lay in the deep holes during the day, and come up into the shallower water to feed at night, is how it was explained to me.

If there is current, that's good. 

If there's structure and current, even better. 

If there's structure, current and the mouth of a feeder creek, you're in business. 

If there's structure, current, the mouth of a feeder creek and that spot is located on the outside bend of a river (where the deepest holes are), be ready for a big boy.

That said, i have yet to make it out this year, going Saturday for the first trip.
    pin_drifter
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 253
    RE: Flathead fishing 2008/07/18 17:03:46 (permalink)
    Thanks for the info but really dosen't say much. So you saying to fish the shallows at night say like 7 ft or less ?

Quit ****ing and take a kid fishing !!
    gizmos
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1190
    RE: Flathead fishing 2008/07/20 07:21:43 (permalink)