Erie Fishing and Boating

Author
Like2Fish
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 121
  • Reward points: 0
2008/05/27 22:20:26 (permalink)

Erie Fishing and Boating

I have been fishing Erie for several years and have done it from a smaller Jon style boat.  Having fell in love with the tug of smallmouth and the taste of Walleye, I purchased a used 20' Wellcraft complete with all the Walleye gear and Downriggers.  I have installed all new electronics, radios, safety equipment.  I just got a dock out of Lampe Marina and the big question is "NOW WHAT"  I have fished mostly inside the Bay and have ventured out on the Lake when I saw it was safe.  I have been as far as the cribs and thats about it.  I will be putting the boat in the water this weekend.  My question is are there any good organizations to join either up there or here in the Pittsburgh where ideas and information can be shared about the various fishing styles on the lake.  An example would be I know what downriggers are but have no idea of the proper way to use or rig them. Any ideas on how and where to start fishing for Walleye and Smallies would really be welcome. Thanks guy's!

8 Replies Related Threads

MuskyMastr
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3032
    RE: Erie Fishing and Boating 2008/05/27 23:34:19 (permalink)
    Share a ride for a couple of trips with some of the guys on here, a few trips can do a lot, and I am sure most of us would be interested in splitting gas some this summer.

Better too far back, than too far forward.
    Banananastix4
    Novice Angler
    • Total Posts : 51
    RE: Erie Fishing and Boating 2008/05/28 05:49:25 (permalink)
    The Pittsburgh Downriggers is a club near you,also the EPSFA is a club here in Erie. We have a boat at Lampe. Well keep an eye out for ya. 
    jlh42581
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1885
    RE: Erie Fishing and Boating 2008/05/28 06:34:03 (permalink)
    Sound like me, bass finally got the best of me, Im planning on a new lowe at some point this year.