Drag?

Author
fishON4Me
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 142
  • Reward points: 0
2008/02/25 18:54:50 (permalink)

Drag?

As I am a newbie to the Steelhead world of fishing, can an expert explain to me how to set your drag on your reel correctly? How do I know if I am setting it to much or to little? I have yet to use the reel and never fished for steelhead so how will I know if my drag is set correctly before I start fishing with it? Thanks in advance.

16 Replies Related Threads

earlysecond
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 212
    RE: Drag? 2008/02/25 19:29:37 (permalink)
    fishON,

I hope that somebody more knowlegable will weigh in for your couple of questions.  I believe that a drag setting depends largely on several factors like line strength (lb. test), ability of line to stretch, length and type of rod you are using and finally the reel itself.  I am a goof who fishes with a really long rod that has a good amount of backbone.  I use 6lb YoZuri hybrid line.  Last summer I caught 15lb+ carp and the drag only spun once!  Again the idea is to have the line be able to stretch but NOT break.  Before it breaks, the drag should spin and prevent the line from snapping.  I am not sure of a good scientific way to set the drag on a rod and reel combo.  I am confident that other members on this board will come up with better advice.  There is rarely anything wrong with taking your time to land a fish.  The danger of setting too light is that you will not have enough power to get a decent hook set.  I typically set my drag a little light on a given day or outing and then I adjust it on the first hook up.  If your rod reel combo is close to well matched or balanced, and you use reasonalby fresh line, this may not be the biggest deal of the day.

Hopefully someone else chimes in soon
    Regards,
    Brent

PS your avatar is unique. . .what does it represent
    indsguiz
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 6351
    RE: Drag? 2008/02/25 19:46:58 (permalink)
    FishON4me,