Advice on a 2 in 1 rod!

Author
StooB
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points: 0
2014/06/12 03:53:50 (permalink)

Advice on a 2 in 1 rod!

I am looking to buy a fishing rod that can handle both long casting for trout in freshwater lakes from the water’s edge and cod from a boat or casting out reasonably heavy lures from a pier and as I am relatively new to the sport (and not yet buying my 2nd, 3rd, 4th rod etc yet…J   ) I want to get a 2 in 1 one does all type rod that can handle this!

I feel I would like a 10ft/3m rod for long distance casting but the weighting I am a little uncertain about.
I want to get long distances in my casting for trout and from the lakeside and the cod from the shore or pier but also use the rod for casting heavier lures to get cod.
I was think maybe would a medium light rod with a casting weight of 7-28 kgs be too light for the heavier lures and alternatively would a 15-35g cw rod be heavy for long casting for trout?

Confused!  :/
I know this situation isn’t ideal but I really need to buy just one rod.
If anyone can suggest a good rod for my dilemma, that would be most appreciated!!
Cheers

4 Replies Related Threads

Porktown
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 9657
    Re: Advice on a 2 in 1 rod! 2014/06/12 11:33:50 (permalink)