Stren magnathin 4# test...

Author
srl135
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 55
  • Reward points: 0
2013/03/25 23:08:18 (permalink)

Stren magnathin 4# test...

Anyone tried it? I opted for it with my first ultralight for some trout action in WV and the **** line broke three times in a row pulling fish out of the water, not the fight. Not large trout either, rainbows at about 12-14". Definitely not 4#'s of fish. Perhaps it's my knots but I've gone to 6# before with no issues, my standard is 10# test but I'd like to get a line I like at a lower test than 10. I tie a Palomar knot if that makes a difference and yes I've tried wetting the line prior to pulling tight.

Anyone ever tried this line?? If so, any suggestions on particular knots? My next option is to go onto a 6# flouro for casting distance. I'm pretty disappointed in the line, it's my first attempt with 4# but it seems like a net is **** near the only way I can get a fish out of the water on this....

7 Replies Related Threads

TheBlueLagoon
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 802
    Re:Stren magnathin 4# test... 2013/03/26 10:56:13 (permalink)
    I  use berkley vanish 4lb fluorocarbon never had an issue with breakoffs, how high are you pulling them out of the water, try pulling the fish to the shore and reaching down to pick up.  

I have also used P-Line flouro for stockies with no issues breaking or casting. No need to use 10# test on stockies or panfish.

Got Walleye???
    TheBlueLagoon
    Expert Angler
    Re:Stren magnathin 4# test... 2013/03/26 11:04:35 (permalink)
    I read alot of reviews online, they seem to get a good overall rating.

here is a review that sounds quite similar to what you spoke of.
    "I have been using the Stren fishing lines since back in the days when the Stren package also said DuPont on it. I always got along very well with the Stren Original.