waterproof camera recommendation

Author
fisherofmen376
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 2215
  • Reward points: 0
2012/11/14 09:15:03 (permalink)

waterproof camera recommendation

Got some birthday dough and id like to buy a waterproof digital camera.  I don't go diving or anything, this would mostly be to photograph fish underwater upon release, etc.  I searched the threads and saw some of you discussing the gopro.  Im not a techie junkie, just looking for something relatively simple.  Is the gopro2 easy to use?  I saw kjh mentioned it's on sale right now...where do you recommend buying from?  Any other tips on this or other cameras appreciated, warranties, etc.  Budget is around 200, id go 250 if i had to i guess.  thanks!

"Come, follow me," Jesus said, "and I will make you fishers of men."
Matthew 4:19

5 Replies Related Threads

troutguy
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 642
    Re:waterproof camera recommendation 2012/11/14 20:50:44 (permalink)
    I have an Olympus Stylus tough, but it is really acting up and doesn't work properly now though.

Overall it was an ok fishing camera. Shockproof, waterproof, freezeproof, etc. It doesn't take the best of pictures, but when it took good ones they were very good ones. The underwater vids and pics were good too. The only things I didn't really like about it was it would sometimes freeze up, and then have to turn off and back on, and it was VERY slow. Shutter speed, turning it on, everything was slow. For a fishing camera you want something that you can turn on and snap a bunch of pics right away(before the fish escapes, etc.) but the Olympus was slow and I wasn't able to get a ton of pics without having the fish out of the water for a long time. I like being albe to take a handful of quick pics of the fish instead of only taking one or two and risking that they'll turn out bad.