S.R. area creeks

Author
fly1on
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 21
  • Reward points: 0
2007/10/22 15:06:13 (permalink)

S.R. area creeks

Does anyone have any good info/tips on fishing the creeks in the salmon river area. I have been fishing the Salmon river for three years now and have explored it well top to bottom. I am very confident anywhere on the river, but I also take time each year to check out the creeks...grindstone/sterling/the sandys etc. I have never timed it right as I have never seen any runs of steelhead in those creeks when I'm there. I usually go during the fall (mid Oct to early November) am I just too early in general?
thanks for any help.

also is there any way to differentiate between the steelhead strains? My last trip(Oct 12-15) I managed to land my biggest ever, 18 lb steelhead, but not a clue if it was a chambers creek, skamania or what?

10 Replies Related Threads

OldSalt
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 307
    RE: S.R. area creeks 2007/10/22 23:27:02 (permalink)
    fly1on,

Skam's that are stocked have a clipped, sometimes almost missing, pectoral fin. Usually very light pinkish gill plate, do get darker as the season progresses.

Area creeks,?.....   shhhhhhhhh......

OldSalt
    fly1on
    New Angler
    RE: S.R. area creeks 2007/10/23 09:27:16 (permalink)
    Hey OldSalt, thanks for the info on the steelys. I guess the two I landed this fall (my first) were Washington's as they had good fins. As for the creeks, I guess your right...discovery is half the fun!
    I'm trying to get over there again this November, as my new goal in life is a 12 lb+ brown!
    backin79
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1582
    RE: S.R. area creeks 2007/11/09 20:52:44 (permalink)