kinzua

Author
indrasson
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 45
  • Reward points: 0
2009/11/22 12:16:26 (permalink)

kinzua

im still a bit new to ice fishing. only been out a couple dozen times. i have wanted to fish kinzua for years. any info would be of tremendous help. anyone who would want to go with me would be even better. putting this out a little early, just a little anxious.

2 Replies Related Threads

jolie
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 348
    RE: kinzua 2009/11/23 12:14:49 (permalink)
    Welcome to a tough Lake!

as a relative newcomer to ice fishing and a newbie whos icefished with good ice anglers on the zoo (local name for kinzua).. Let me say that it is a tough lake.

honestly, I'm NOT sure I'd cut my teeth on this beast.  Here are a few tips (mainly passed down from others), that nonetheless seemed (to me) to be real wise.

First pay extraordinary to being warm; 
    while any ice fishing is cold, kinzua is extraordinary because; the main arm creates a huge open path for North to south gusts and wind chill can be extreme.  second because its huge and easy to walk quite a ways before you stumble into good depths etc, making for a really LONG walk to the car.  Last, there are few ammenities on its ANF shore.  If you get in trouble, and fall through there's not much help, espacially if you leave for more secluded spots.

Now the "legendary" cracks.