new rod/reel

Author
carpcatcher
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 48
  • Reward points: 0
2009/08/10 14:29:50 (permalink)

new rod/reel

I'm thinking of trying out the pinnin stuff this season and was wondering if the Okuma combo's are a decent starter set up? I've never tried it before and don't want to invest mega bucks right off the bat. I love float fishing with my spinning equipment and just thinking of giving it a try. Thanks in advance for the insight

9 Replies Related Threads

Screamin Steel
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 246
    RE: new rod/reel 2009/08/10 16:46:59 (permalink)
    I haven't taken the pin plunge yet, either...but I am fascinated by the concept and the art of it...I am one of those noodle rod float fishing guys that uses a spining reel with my floats and no shot line for erie trib steelhead. Kind of a bastardized way of doing the same thing but less effectively I'm sure. I do however own an Okuma noodle rod and some Okuma reels, and they are all of great quality for the buck. Most of the pinners I've talked to speak highly of their Okumas and they have some great affordable combos to get you started without investing a small fortune. JM2C
    jimhalupka
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1058
    RE: new rod/reel 2009/08/10 20:34:30 (permalink)
    I would say thumbs down on the aventa and thumbs up on sheffield, but have read some bad reviews on the combo (the rod aspect)...  I have a sheffield and have no problems whatsoever with it, except running over my first one with the vehicle.  Always keep your protective case on it when you sit it down, they get dirty, and can be a pain to deal with while on the water or streamside

flyandfloatfishing.net > skip casting off the side of the reel and go straight to the wallis style.  I did this and am glad I did. You'll avoid line twist which is inevitable when starting out.

also google center pin fishing and visit some other forums, they talk about pinning religiously