What do you tie??

Author
dealinsteel
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 318
  • Reward points: 0
2007/07/25 13:17:24 (permalink)

What do you tie??

Hey what's up guys, I'm an occassional poster but I'm on this page everyday.  I was wondering what types of flies you guys like to tie: bass, trout, salmon, panfish, musky/pike, saltwater..etc, and what specific types are your favorites...nymphs, dries, topwater, streamers, deer hair, etc.  I just got back into tying after a little hiatus due to graduating college and getting a real job, but I've been doing it for almost 10 years now.  I've tied just about every type of fly from #32's just to see if it was possible to 6/0 Billfish flies, and I'd have to say that my favorite flies to tie are spun deer hair divers/poppers for bass.  What about you?? 
post edited by dealinsteel - 2007/07/25 13:18:19

7 Replies Related Threads

jlh42581
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1885
    RE: What do you tie?? 2007/07/25 15:24:36 (permalink)
    Whatever is hatching where im going the next day, thats my favorite. I used to tie, tie, tie some more, stay up all night tying. Now its, hurry and crank out a dozen, oh, may need 5 or 6 of those....out the door.
    Slate_Drake_9
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 113
    RE: What do you tie?? 2007/07/25 19:35:15 (permalink)
    I have tied just about every type of fly I can think of in the last 20 years.  My favorites change periodically, but currently my favorites are "micro" nymphs (size 18 and smaller) and wet flies (traditional winged and wingless soft hackles).  I have always hated tying saltwater flies.  Just not enough variation (mostly streamers of some sort).  In a few more weeks I will answer that salmon/steelhead flies are my favorite.  I think because they are mostly simple and are like making Christmas tree ornaments.  Bright and pretty.
    jaybo
    New Angler
    • Total Posts : 24
    RE: What do you tie?? 2007/07/28 22:33:01 (permalink)