Info on King salmon fishing

Author
Rfg111
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points: 0
2012/05/01 20:44:10 (permalink)

Info on King salmon fishing

Planning a trip from Erie, Pa to Olcott, NY this season for some king salmon fishing. Was hoping to gain as much info as possible from some experts. Best time? Where? Where to stay? Lures? Launch? Thanks.

16 Replies Related Threads

whiterobin
    Novice Angler
    • Total Posts : 63
    RE: Info on King salmon fishing 2012/05/09 13:15:17 (permalink)
    I'm from the pittsburgh area and have been going up to the olcott area for about 3 years now... i'm far from an expert, but here is some info and advice.

Middle of October seems to be the best time to go as you hook into kings, steelhead, and a bunch of browns depending on the rains during the month.

As for where to stay i know of a few places (can't recall the names) that are fairly close. I've either 1. just slept in our car outside the gate of 18 mile. 2 there is a little "inn" idk what they call it down past the bridge of 18 mile creek heading toward the lake. you could give her a call, id do it soon if shes not booked for the season already.

Depending on what type of fishing your doing:
    I fly fish and rarely go up to the dam aka firing squad. Staying down from the dam in the riffles or down by the tressel on 18 mile is the best but you have to get there asap as the gates open and run to hold a spot.

If your spinning and just looking for kings you can go to the dam and try your luck just bring about 25+ pounds of sinkers unless you want to pay $1 an ounce at the bait shop. Your going to snag and lose a lot of tackle and thats really not my type of fishing.