perch fishing

Author
Hammer Handle
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 73
  • Reward points: 0
2010/10/01 08:01:19 (permalink)

perch fishing

Any reports on the perch fishing? I know the Lake has been rough but I'm not ready to quit on perch and start Steelhead fishing. Are emarald shiners still available at the bait shops.

19 Replies Related Threads

chauncy
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1298
    RE: perch fishing 2010/10/01 08:33:46 (permalink)
    Went perchin out of conneaut wednesday with a buddy from Ohio. We caught well over a hundred to get our 60 keepers. They were in 72ft of water. We used goldens and sabiki rigs.
    Dr. Trout
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 4417
    RE: perch fishing 2010/10/01 08:54:06 (permalink)

This is posted only to get info, not a reflection on the above poster..

As I have mentioned I am new to this lake erie fishing stuff ..

after reading the above post about catching a 100 to get 60 keepers, I have a question..

on the head-boat you have to keep the dinks (small ones) but I see nothing in the fishing laws about that, I have been told that bringing perch up from 50+ feet will not allow them to live if released.. is this true...

I can not understand removing 40 extra fish from the population for next year just because one thinks they are too small.. Is the rule on the boat just that a rule for that boat ?? or is it something SOME guys do on lake erie. or just what is it ???
    350Z&Steelheads
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 430
    RE: perch fishing 2010/10/01 09:30:46 (permalink)
    I agree that throwing back 40 sounds like a waste. 40 fish just died.

I have no idea if there is any "rules" about doing so.
    post edited by 350Z&Steelheads - 2010/10/01 09:31:30

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Hammer Handle
    Novice Angler
    RE: perch fishing 2010/10/01 10:29:16 (permalink)