Perch fishing in 16ft boat

Author
Brad1
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 338
  • Reward points: 0
2015/09/05 10:04:08 (permalink)

Perch fishing in 16ft boat

I've been boating on Erie for 35 yrs. But for the most part, it's always been in a cabin boat, ussually 22 foot. 23 ft Imperial, 22 ft Proline, 22 ft Grady White. Right now, I have a 16 starcraft side console with a 60 hp main motor and a 9.9 kicker. I'm a maintenance freak and the boat is always sea worthy and sound. None the less, it still is a 16 foot boat. I've had it out on Erie a couple times fishing for smallies, but that is only in 25 fow and conditions have been perfect. Thinking about heading out a little further (60 fow) for perch. Wave forecast 2 ft or less. Wondering about safety with bow anchored and larger boats throwing wakes.

Provided lake conditions are good, does that sound safe in your opinion?

6 Replies Related Threads

The Alaskan
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 157
    Re: Perch fishing in 16ft boat 2015/09/05 10:29:35 (permalink)
    I have a 14ft boat with a 15hp, the kids and I go out in the lake with it.  I have been out in 58ft ofw fishing for perch with it.  handles great.   My stern of the boat doesn't have a catch splash shelf, so I made splash guards for the back of mine to keep water from splashing in.  That was the biggest problem when with wakes or waves I had not the bow. Problem solved.  I always keep eye on conditions, usually only go if 2' or less, or 1-3 if fishing in the 35 or less range when winds are 5-15 out of most direction except south. South as you know is usually flat!!!  Enjoy yourself.

may your lines be tight
    The Alaskan
    marco
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 171
    Re: Perch fishing in 16ft boat 2015/09/05 10:31:45 (permalink)