Tackle

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
dtrobe
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 100
  • Reward points: 0
Re: Tackle 2014/09/14 00:10:30 (permalink)
My light in the tunnel is Sept. 29-Oct. 3. Even though its my 4th year going, im still a rookie. Anyone feel free to share some river time and show a new dog some old tricks, let me know.
fichy
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 1896
Re: Tackle 2014/09/14 07:58:17 (permalink)
r3g3
Heyy Charlie- You picked the best time so far this season for early unmolested fishes- hope ya found a few- weather permitting.
Am sure the reports of a few starting will get the circus train started- by the time I get up again will be stumbling over people instead of cobble.

Fish were there in very, very small numbers. Saw maybe 10 all day, and  those just swirls. Never saw a hook-up out of hundreds of people fishing.  Talked to guys that abandoned the DSR in the morning as nothing was happening. Guess it was just off.
Water was warm. Rained off and on  from 10 . We fished below 2a, UFZ, Schoolhouse, Barrel and looked at lots of other places with nothing happening. But, had a great day with tons of laughter and great company.  I'm glad I finally got to fish with Uglyfish, won't be the last by any means. The chubs were everywhere, rising by the dozens and trying to whack your flies on the swing, occasionally getting hooked. I guess  if you use 1/0's you'd never have  to  unhook them. Now there's a reason....
     Walked in the powerlines from Pulaski St. to the bottom  of Schoolhouse.  There's a chopped swath for most of the way, but lots of bungee sticks and stubble. We followed a flock of vultures- shoulda told us something.  At 350 crossing was a non-issue- at 500 still doable if you wanted to cross over from the north and walk down to the bottom of the wire. Jailhouse was empty, looked like a ghost town. They have posted right to the last 50 feet of the land adjacent to Schoolhouse.