first time steelhead trip

Author
slimmypebble
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points: 0
2007/10/02 23:40:05 (permalink)

first time steelhead trip

I have been fishing for stocked browns and rainbows for over ten years but have never gone for steelhead. So I am looking for any tips or info that would be helpful.

11 Replies Related Threads

spoonchucker
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 8561
    RE: first time steelhead trip 2007/10/02 23:47:40 (permalink)
    Stockie Rainbows, and Steehead are basically the same animal, with the same basic behavior patterns. Just fish for them the same way. Steelheading in nowhere near the rocket science that some like to "believe" it is.

Get Informed, Get Involved, And Make A Difference.

Step Up, or Step Aside

The next time you say "Somebody should do something", remember that YOU are somebody.

GL
    steelheaders#1
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 231
    RE: first time steelhead trip 2007/10/03 02:39:18 (permalink)
    Read the articles under stream fishing on main page. This should be enough to get you started out. Best to go uup after a rain when skien works as a powerful scent attractor in the off colored water. Fishing in gin clear condition means light line and a flourocarbon leader with hooks in small 16-20 size range.  If you need any otehr poiners drop me a line

Fish ON!  ------<*}}}}}><       steelheaders rule!!

Let*s go PENS!!!
    JEB
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2248
    RE: first time steelhead trip 2007/10/03 07:06:11 (permalink)